Famous TV presenters pay tribute to inspirational young people at Courage Awards

The president-elect of Mansfield Rotary Club and famous television presenters Eamonn Holmes and Ruth Langsford led the praise for 11 inspirational children and young people at the annual Mansfield Rotary Club Courage Awards.

The event, now in its 30th year, was held virtually because of the coronavirus pandemic and a total of 75 people logged on to Zoom to celebrate with the 11 brave young people.

Karen Johnson, president-elect of the Rotary Club, said: “We hope everyone enjoyed the event, despite the changed circumstances, and that they were impressed with these young people and were moved by their stories. We doubt there was a dry eye on screen.

“It is a privilege for Mansfield Rotary Club to present the Courage Awards, which reflect our own motto of Service Above Self.”

Eamonn Holmes and Ruth Langsford, well known for fronting This Morning, recorded a special message for the event. 

They said: “We would like to pay our tribute to the 11 young people who are being honoured.

“You are an inspiration to all of us in these very difficult times and, despite the covid pandemic, we are sure that the parents and carers of the nominees are delighted that these awards are going ahead — albeit in a virtual format.

“So well done. And congratulations to everyone involved.”

The 11 young people were: Leoni Bragg and Abigail Cross, of Meden School, Warsop; Owen Brown and Rachel Tweedie, of Portland College;  Adam Hooley, of Reach Learning Disability; Corey Root, of A Place To Call Our Own; Annabelle Pye, of West Nottinghamshire College;  James Slaney, of R.E.A.L. Education; Daisy MarieStanley, of The Beech Academy, Mansfield; Connor Summerell, of Samworth Church Academy, Mansfield; and Joshua Stead, of The Joseph Whitaker School, Rainworth.

To read their stories of courage, click here

The 11 all received a plaque from the Rotary Club and a civic citation from the Mayor of Mansfield, Andy Abrahams.

The recipients of the awards had been nominated by their school or college for “exemplifying moral and spiritual courage in the face of personal adversity and difficulty.”

Education Mutual was the event’s main sponsor.

Others sponsors were: Tyler Bros (Sutton-in-Ashfield) Ltd, HW Martin Waste Ltd, Asmech Systems Ltd, Portland College, Hall-Fast Industrial Supplies, Mansfield Building Society, Fidler & Pepper, Hopkins Solicitors, Mansfield Garage Doors, The Rose Bower, Bee Noticed, Alison and Phil Constantine, Overton Electrical and Ravenshead Consultancy.

Share Button

Posted in: Mansfield